January 2, 2017


A Summer Story – 1988 | 95 mins | Romance, Drama | Colour

Plot Synopsis

A Summer Story

An engaging love story based on John Galsworthy’s classic novella, ‘The Apple Tree’, and set in turn-of-the-century England. Director Piers Haggard captures the beauty of the English countryside adroitly and manages to keep the story�s sentiment in check but the end result is still disappointingly predictable and trite. James Wilby and Imogen Stubbs provide creditable performances but there appears little onscreen chemistry between the pair.

England, 1904, a young London barrister Mr. Ashton (James Wilby) and his best friend are hiking across Dartmoor. Due to a sprained ankle, Ashton is forced to seek help at a nearby farmhouse and the pair lodge there for a few days. Innocent beauty Megan David (Imogen Stubbs) catches the eye of Ashton and a flirtation of sorts takes place. Ashton decides to stay longer and he and Megan fall in love, much to the chagrin of Megan’s aunt (Susannah York) and her loutish son (Jerome Flynn). Ashton is then packed off but not until he vows to return and take Megan away with him. He bumps into an old school friend (John Elmes) in Torquay and his procrastination at the fashionable resort causes him to fall in love with his friend’s sister Stella (Sophie Ward) and forget his promise to Megan. When she travels to Torquay in the hope of locating him; the cowardly Ashton hides instead of facing the broken-hearted girl. Many years later Ashton returns to the scene of his short-lived summer romance; to revisit his youth or right a long-standing wrong?

Production Team

Piers Haggard: Director
Richard Elton: Art Direction
Diane Dancklefsen: Art Direction
Kenneth MacMillan: Cinematography
Jenny Beavan: Costume Design
Ralph Sheldon: Editing
Georges Delerue: Original Music
Danton Rissner: Producer
Leo Austin: Production Design
Penelope Mortimer: Script
Robert Hathaway: Sound Department
Peter Musgrave: Sound Department
John Poyner: Sound Department
Bill Rowe: Sound Department
Jim Shields: Sound Department
David Hildyard: Sound Department


James Wilby: Mr Ashton
Imogen Stubbs: Megan David
Susannah York: Mrs Narracombe
Kenneth Colley: Jim
Jerome Flynn: Joe Narracombe
Lee Billett: Nick
Oliver Perry: Rick
Harry Burton: Garton
Sophie Ward: Stella Halliday

blog comments powered by Disqus