Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Liked
    0 times
    I am a student currently in the process of writing a presentation essay, and conducting some research which brings me here.

The question/title of the essay is the same as the post title, my question is;

What factors influenced the decline of Hammer Horror movies?

Opinions are welcome, and I am also aware that Hammer is having a bit of a �revival� at the moment with scheduled releases this year.

Thanks.

Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    7 times
    You could try doing some basic research in a library and/or Google search and check up on any of the various books on English horror movies of the period all of which give various reasons for Hammer's decline.

Denis Meikle, Jonathan Rigby, Wayne Kinsey, Marcus Hearn and David Pirie all discuss the decline in their respective books.

Bottom lines - no American money any more; economic recession causing collapse of what was left of british film industry; The Exorcist; failure to adapt to chnaging market tastes.

Take your pick.

This so-called "revival" is nothing to do with their output from the 1950-1970s. The Hammer company doesn't even own the rights to distribute these movies.

Liked
    0 times
    Yeah, I've already got 3 books including Marcus Hearn's. It's just the criteria of the essay means I need primary research which is why I have posted in a few forums.

Yeah the 'revival' I will note, I only became aware of it a month after I finalised the essay title but as you said it's completely different now to what it was.

Liked
    7 times
    The best place for primary research is the BFI library in central London. It stocks loads of periodicals, books etc.

The main miracle of Hammer is that it kept going making horror films for about 15 years against a background of chronic decline in British film audiences and film production. You should be able to get stats on that.