Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Country: Great Britain
    Liked
    0 times
    The time has come to choose my dissertation subject/title and i am stuck! I am studying television and film so the subject is wide ranged and i am struggling to choose what i wish to do.

I want to start my research now, so must choose asap. My passions are:

The BBC particularly the John Reith era

Japanese Horror

The Carry on films

Programmes such as 'On The Buses', 'Dads Army', 'Are you being served' etc.

I know this is quite a range, but would really appreciate some feedback from perhaps some people who have been through the same as i am currently!!

Thanks so much

This forum has been a lifesaver throughout my University career so far!!

Super Moderator Country: UK batman's Avatar
    Liked
    255 times
    If you choose Japanese horror you could look at the way the genre has changed over the years, from the 'serious' horror of the 50s (Godzilla, The H Man etc) via the 'man in a suit demolishing model cities' years to the current more psychological films being made. You could also include the international impact some of these films have made and examine the cultural/artistic differences between the original films and their US remakes.

Administrator Country: Wales Steve Crook's Avatar
    Liked
    418 times
    What qualification is this for?

That determines how much you need to put into it and the depth that you need to cover it in

Steve

Senior Member Country: UK CaptainWaggett's Avatar
    Liked
    492 times
    I bet the examiners have seen a lot of dissertations on horror and Carry Ons but not many on the early history of the BBC so at least they won't be bored if you choose that one.

Liked
    0 times
    name='Steve Crook' timestamp='1281957935' post='465010']

What qualification is this for?

That determines how much you need to put into it and the depth that you need to cover it in

Steve

It is a BA in Film And Television Studies

Liked
    418 times