Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Educating Rta

Liked
    0 times
    Where can I get a copy of that "Pub Song" used in the film, Educating Rita? Remember the scene(s) and the song? Amazon.com doesn't show "Pub Song" in the song list. (Or I couldn't find it.)

Did the song ever have a title other than "Pub Song?" Who recorded it?

Thx!

Senior Member Country: England
    Liked
    4 times
    According to the BFI monthly Film Bulletin, May 1983, "the pub song" was written and performed by Stephen Gilbert, but that is all the information it gives.

Possibly Stephen Gilbert was some relation of Lewis Gilbert the director of the film.

Liked
    0 times
    Thx, Hugo. Let me check it out.

Liked
    0 times
    Hi,

Have only just found this site and this is my first attempt at asking a question! Can anyone please tell me the name of the song that is playing on the jukebox in the pub - the family are all singing along with it. I love this movie and have tried to catch the words everytime I watch it, but no luck so far. It has just about driven me crazy for years! My husband is going to have me committed if I don't stop driving him nuts! Many thanks.

[ 15. December 2004, 14:28: Message edited by: DB7 ]

Liked
    151 times
    It's called Pub Song by Stephen Gilbert aka Steve Gilbert. (Director Lewis Gilbert's son)

Liked
    0 times
    Many thanks DB7,

At long last I have something definite to search for! Haven't had any luck so far re finding the lyrics or where I can obtain a recording of the song, but at least your help will give me something to keep me occupied over the Christmas break (when there's nothing much to watch on television) :-)

Much appreciated - have a Merry Christmas and a Great New Year.

Liked
    0 times
    HI

I am wanting to find out more about the music from a specific scene in 'Educating Rita'.