Thread: Henry Cass

Liked
    0 times
    A few years ago, a child in my class (I'm a primary school teacher) brought in some family-related items as part of a class topic on World War Two. Most children had something interesting to show or tell, tales of granny's evacuation or how great grandad lost a finger in a sea battle (fortunately the finger was left at home).

What I noticed straight away was that the relative in this particular photo was in costume, rather than uniform, and that it had a publicity number on the bottom. Granny was in fact Joan Hopkins, then still-living and an actress on both silver and small screen in the 40s and 50s. She was married to the director Henry Cass. I knew the name straight away from "Blood of the Vampire", one of the first non-Hammer Brit horrors, but apparently this was a bit of a comedown. A bit of research turned up "Last Holiday" with Alec Guinness, "The Glass Mountain" and a claim to have discovered Audrey Hepburn for her most substantial pre-Hollywood role in "First Wives' Club".

I didn't ask too many questions: Henry Cass died the year before my student was born. Any more info out there?

Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    1 times
    I remember reading that he subsequently forswore the film business and became a member of the 60s hardcore Christian group The Festival of Light, from where we were also treated to busybody barmpot Mary Whitehouse.

Liked
    151 times
    I believe the Festival of Light organization are still active, I was watching a Python retrospective on the Life of Brian recently and one of the talking heads was a FoL spokesman. A few of his films show up on Movies 4 Men; all moderate despite the credits often including the likes of Norman Hudis, Jimmy Sangster and Baker/Berman.

Senior Member Country: Great Britain
    Liked
    1 times
    Henry Cass directed The Crooked Sky (1957) that starred Wayne Morris. It was written by Maclean Rogers (story) & Norman Hudis and was fimed at Merton Park.