Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bird Song

Junior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    0 times
    I don't know if anyone can help, but I do notice considerable bird song in the background of old British films, despite the lack of fidelility in some war time sound on film!!

I am no expert, but I do try to identify some of the song birds. I know wildlife in general has declined of late, but would they bother to dub on a nightjar for example in a night scene, or crickets (rare in my neck of the woods!!) even? I guess that the number of barking foxes in Midsommer Murders (more than I have ever heard after living in the country for many years) suggests some enhancement, but surely not 50 or 60 years ago? Would the technology even be there in the 1940's?

Comments would be much appreciated.

Best wishes Mark.

Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    1 times
    name='MNP']I don't know if anyone can help, but I do notice considerable bird song in the background of old British films, despite the lack of fidelility in some war time sound on film!!

I am no expert, but I do try to identify some of the song birds. I know wildlife in general has declined of late, but would they bother to dub on a nightjar for example in a night scene, or crickets (rare in my neck of the woods!!) even? I guess that the number of barking foxes in Midsommer Murders (more than I have ever heard after living in the country for many years) suggests some enhancement, but surely not 50 or 60 years ago? Would the technology even be there in the 1940's?

Comments would be much appreciated.

Best wishes Mark.

If you watch Tawny Pipit then you will hear lots of wildlife noises. I went to the location of that film last year and you can still hear the noises

Liked
    0 times
    I have a set of 78rpm records of seperate tracks of bird song, farmyard animals etc. for use as background for film and early t.v. work. they are old but no actual date on them.

Super Moderator Country: Great Britain
    Liked