Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    3 times
    I picked up a copy of Ian Carmichael's autobiography Will the Real Ian Carmichael from 1979 and found it an enjoyable read as I knew virtually nothing about the man before picking it up. Even back then when the book came out in the late 1970s he had enjoyed a long career on stage, pioneering TV days including producing Richard Hearne's Mr Pastry, and films but even as an established actor it appeared that life wasn't always perfect and he spent long periods away from his family touring theatreland.

I suppose the biggest film parts were in School For Scoundrels, I'm Alright Jack and the earliest one Privates on Parade but I suppose the Jeeves and Wooster TV series from the 1960s will be remembered by many.

I last saw him on TV's The Royal as a surgeon I think and it's remarkable that he's 88 years old this month and still has those boyish looks.

A very popular actor and he seems like an all round good bloke!

Super Moderator Country: UK batman's Avatar
    Liked
    255 times
    I have been re-reading Brando's autobiography 'Songs My Mother Taught Me'. I hadn't read it since it first came out and at that time I found it very unsatisfactory, especially having previously read Peter Manso's huge biography of the great man.

On second reading I enjoyed it much more and appreciated the eccentric humour running through it. If you want a warts and all expose this isn't it, but if you are looking for a gentle volume of often unrelated anecdotes you will enjoy this.

I have also been reading the posthumously published novel he wrote with Donald Cammel called 'Fan-Tan'. It's surprisingly good.

Senior Member Country: UK CaptainWaggett's Avatar
    Liked
    492 times