Liked
    0 times
    I�m a stinky student requesting nerdy help. I'm a newbie, but I got stuck into a really interesting thread on British social realism and thought I might be able to take it some place else, perhaps.

I�m studying for my MA in documentary photography. I�ve decided to centre my thesis on the representation of identity in british social documentary over the past 30 years. I�m looking to throw my research net as wide as possible to form strong arguments, so I�m looking at film/TV, music, literature, comedy as well as the still image. Soooo, I was wondering if you folk could add to the social realist films already commented upon? We�re looking at Britain in the 70s/80s/90s/and the naughties. Can you think of any pertinent films that represent an element of cultural or British identity?

Thanks for any help/guidance or advice!

Best regards,

Chloe

Senior Member Country: Great Britain scenesixty's Avatar
    Liked
    5 times
    name='Nahm']I�m a stinky student requesting nerdy help. I'm a newbie, but I got stuck into a really interesting thread on British social realism and thought I might be able to take it some place else, perhaps.

I�m studying for my MA in documentary photography. I�ve decided to centre my thesis on the representation of identity in british social documentary over the past 30 years. I�m looking to throw my research net as wide as possible to form strong arguments, so I�m looking at film/TV, music, literature, comedy as well as the still image. Soooo, I was wondering if you folk could add to the social realist films already commented upon? We�re looking at Britain in the 70s/80s/90s/and the naughties. Can you think of any pertinent films that represent an element of cultural or British identity?

Thanks for any help/guidance or advice!

Best regards,

Chloe

Try: Saturday Night/Sunday Morning, Up The Junction, Poor Cow, Cathy Come Home, Terence Davies Trilogy. Bst B.

Liked
    0 times