Liked
    0 times
    As a Media student I'm currently researching into "Women in Film" and I've chosen Helena Bonham-Carter and Tim Burton's relationship as a study point. I am asking a fundamental question and would appreciate everyones opinion. Please be aware that I may be using your post as part of my research.

The question is:

"Do you feel as though Tim Burton has influenced Helena's career due to personal relations (i.e their marriage)?She once played roles that conveyed those of an English Rose but since her collaboration with Burton these roles have become more and more eccentric."

Senior Member Country: Scotland julian_craster's Avatar
    Liked
    103 times
    I think HBCs age is also a factor here.........

I never regarded HBC as an 'English rose' type though, even 20 years ago.....

Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    0 times
    "Do you feel as though Tim Burton has influenced Helena's career due to personal relations (i.e their marriage)?She once played roles that conveyed those of an English Rose but since her collaboration with Burton these roles have become more and more eccentric."[/QUOTE]

She may have looked like an English rose, but she certainly didn't always play as such. There was always a kind of darkness or some eccentricity: in Howard's End or Wings of the Dove for example. At 20, sure, she was the sweet young thing in Room with a View and Lady Jane Grey, but throughout her career there has nearly always been a quirkiness. Inevitably, her collaboration with Tim Burton, himself an eccentric, has highlighted this. I think she's a very good, underrated actress and am delighted that her partnership with TB has produced some great roles for her.

Senior Member Country: England faginsgirl's Avatar
    Liked
    416 times
    Hi.