Liked
    0 times
    Hi,

Im a final year undergraduate who recently began working on my dissertation. Ive been struggling a bit recently with my choice of question.

Do social realist films in British Cinema reinforce Stereotypes within the working class?

If you dont know what social realism is, it's basically a representation of a 'life as it really is' often portrayed using the working class and comments on political and social issues current to the setting of the film. Its usually low budget and aimed at an art circuit and the films resist resolution, they a more documentary.

Films such as 'Bleak moments' and 'Meantime' by Mike Leigh are social realist films, in these films there is a subtle class war happening between the well educated and prospering middle class with the under educated and unemployed working class.

What i want to know is whether these films aid in reinforcing stereotypes within the working class by portraying them as drug peddling, abusive, uneducated and often violent. Or is this a vision from the director to create a gritty 'realism' to the film... or does anyone really believe this not to be a minority representation and believes all working class is this way? (if there really still is a working class today?)

Anyone got any opinions let me know.

Cheers,

Meads

Senior Member Country: Great Britain
    Liked
    0 times
    Blimey - now there's a topic and a half!

You might find it easier to limit the scope - maybe choosing a decade or a director or two (both your examples are from Leigh and he's a good choice). The 'obvious' choice would be the late 50s early 60s - Room at the Top, Saturday Night & Sunday Morning etc. - but there is quite a lot of work on these (I'd recommend John Hill's book, the title of which escapes me at the moment). Also, they don't quite fit your definition, as these were mainstream films and very successful at the box office.