Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Liked
    0 times
    Hello, all. I'm new to these premises, so please forgive me if I screw up somehow.

Let me iterate the query I've already made on another forum largely dedicated to British and European cinema and television:

Growing up here in Canada in the 1970s, the CBC had a sort of matinee package show running for two hours on Saturdays and later Sundays known as Peanuts & Popcorn (the U.S. equivalent was CBS Children's Film Festival, while the British equivalent was probably those CFF theatrical matinees). Each two-hour episode consisted of an installment of the Canadian-made cartoon Captain Nemo, a short movie (quite often a CFF production), and an installment in a foreign mini-series or serial. CFF films included The Boy Who Turned Yellow, Blinker's Spy Spotter, Up In The Air, Glitterball, etc. The most prominent foreign mini-series was the Swedish Den Vita Stenen--dubbed in British English as The White Stone.

I have most of these old productions situated fairly clearly in my mind, but there are a few images and bits of dialogue that confuse me or lack origin. Most prominent among these are the following:

1)The first time I ever heard ginger ale referred to as 'ginger beer' was in some British sci-fi film or series--most likely a CFF production. A young fellow is taken aboard a spacecraft, or brought into a parallel universe, or...(you get the picture), and is asked by (I think) an unseen force or being of some sort, "Would you like something to drink...?" To which the boy responds, "Yes, a ginger beer, please" (or something like that). Was it The Boy Who Turned Yellow...? An episode of a series or serial...?