Liked
    0 times
    i am a a2 media studies student researching from my critical research unit.

my media studies exam in june is all about women in film.

the question i have chosen to study is "is the role of women in romantic comedies simply to be plot devices for the story"

all feedback/information welcomed.

Senior Member Country: UK
    Liked
    1 times
    The answer is - "Yes"

Administrator Country: Wales Steve Crook's Avatar
    Liked
    418 times
    name='SirOllyBolly']The answer is - "Yes"
    Or maybe a better answer is "sometimes"

Steve

Senior Member Country: UK CaptainWaggett's Avatar
    Liked
    492 times
    Have you thought of subsitituting the word 'men' for women in your question and seeing if you come up with a different answer?

Senior Member Country: Spain Rowdon's Avatar
    Liked
    143 times
    You posted this on May 29th, and your exam's in JUNE??? How long do they give you for research?

And what research have you done so far? Give us some guidelines here.

And at the risk of repeating what I wrote about the Soffia Coppola media studies question ...

How are you taking the question? What does the question-setter mean by "plot devices for the story"? As opposed to plot devices for what exactly? Aren't plot devices automatically for the story ... the plot in fact?

How do you understand "simply"?

As Captain Wagget says, could men be seen as plot devices?

The question is far too general and lazy to have any real direction or meaning until you interpret it, filmfanatic101. How many words do you have to write? can't you think of any Romcom examples to throw at us to give us a starting point? Or do you want us to give you a starting point?

This question is obviously a 'free' question, by which I mean, it's like asking Are cars OK in films?...