Liked
    0 times
    I studied Radio, Film and Television Studies at Canterbury Christchurch College from 1995-98 and was taught by some amazing lecturers including Phillip Simpson from BFI and Director Nick Burton. I was saddened to hear recently that Nick had suddenly passed away in 2006. He was a talented, creative man who had a close friendship with Thelma Schoonmaker after their mutual love of her then husband Michael Powell. She visited our college a number of times and Nick was a big part of that. The main reason I am posting this thread is that as a class we were shown a number of Nick's own films. I cannot remember the names of them but know that this forum is pretty amazing at finding independant and obscure movies. If anyone has any info on Nick or his films I would be most grateful. Thank you.

Administrator Country: Wales Steve Crook's Avatar
    Liked
    418 times
    name='Bates']I studied Radio, Film and Television Studies at Canterbury Christchurch College from 1995-98 and was taught by some amazing lecturers including Phillip Simpson from BFI and Director Nick Burton. I was saddened to hear recently that Nick had suddenly passed away in 2006. He was a talented, creative man who had a close friendship with Thelma Schoonmaker after their mutual love of her then husband Michael Powell. She visited our college a number of times and Nick was a big part of that. The main reason I am posting this thread is that as a class we were shown a number of Nick's own films. I cannot remember the names of them but know that this forum is pretty amazing at finding independant and obscure movies. If anyone has any info on Nick or his films I would be most grateful. Thank you.
    Hello Bates,

I knew Nick, he's a sad loss. He really was one of the good guys in life. I run the Powell and Pressburger Appreciation Society and we organised a few events with Nick and the people at Canterbury Christchurch and Nick came to a few of our other events.