Liked
    0 times
    hello there!!

i am a student from germany and i am about to write an article about the use of english reginal dialects in tv programms and i was wondering if you could help me out. i�ve read a post in this forum and you�ve discussed a pretty similar topic and it looked like you�re the right people to ask...

just a brief explanation: if you turn on the tv here in germany you would never ever find a actor talking in his/ her original dialect, even tough i would find that pretty exiting (and if they come from bavaria even amusing- no offence i have a funny little saxon accent meself). no matter if you�re a radio spokesman or present a show in the prime time, you have to be able to talk in an accent- free "high german" (as they call it), so no one will ever find out where you are from. some people might even think it could be a lack of identity...(?)

the question i am asking myself now is: how comes that reginal dialects are kept in the british (or irish, american, canadian, australien..) broadcasts? do the english speakers have more sense for the language culture , or phonetical varieties? what would you think if someone would introduce a "standart" english, that everyone has to speak? (i know that there is the RP, but it is not kept extremly strict)

thank you very much for your help, or: Ein gro�es, dickes Dankesch�n! (standart)

Een grosses, digges Dangescheen (saxon)

Super Moderator Country: England
    Liked
    7 times